Jens Casper Dipl.-Ing. Architekt BDA
Dieffenbachstraße 47
10967 Berlin, Germany



C, is the Berlin based practice of architect Jens Casper. It covers architectural research, consultancy, design and teaching. A 1998 graduate of RWTH Aachen University with a strong interest in urbanism, Jens has established a practice that focuses on reading the built environment and it’s resistive and transformative nature. His built work includes interiors, high end residential projects, exhibition spaces, cultural buildings and venues, most of them implemented in listed environments.

Jens has been developing new collaborations ever since he began his independent practice. He co-founded and established acclaimed architecture offices like Realarchitektur (Berlin) and Casper Mueller Kneer (London and Berlin), and has been contact architect to Berlin for international architecture firms like Inside Outside / Petra Blaisse (NL) and SADAR+VUGA (SLO).

Mostly carried out in these partnerships and co-operations, his work has been internationally recognised, published, and awarded numerous times. His best known works are the Berlin transformations Boros Collection Residence and Radialsystem III, the residence HHGO in Oldenburg, White Cube Bermondsey in London, Phoenixhalle in Dortmund, and the research project Das Garagenmanifest
Since 2004, Jens held multiple teaching positions. He was Assistant Professor at TU Berlin, and a Unit Master at the AA Berlin Laboratory of the Architectural Association. As a guest professor at BTU Cottbus, he was head of the chair "Bauen im Bestand / Contextual Design", and head of the postgraduate Architectural Design Programme ‘Architektur.Studium.Generale’ carried out by 10 universities across Europe and Israel, incl. BTU. Most recently he has been teaching at the intersection of architectural design and heritage preservation, co-developing The Garage Manifesto and Studio Bagan (Myanmar).

Jens is a board member of Haus Döschnitz eV, a member of the Association of Critical Heritage Studies, of the Chamber of Architects of Berlin, and Bund Deutscher Architektinnen und Architekten BDA Berlin. In 2010 he was appointed member of the Konvent der Baukultur der Bundesstiftung Baukultur. He lives and works in Berlin, Germany, and summarizes his practice as C, since 2021.

co-operations / team

Luise RellensmannInside Outside / Petra Blaisse: Petra Blaisse, Aura Luz Melis, Nafsika Efklidou; Casper Mueller Kneer: Marianne Mueller, Olaf Kneer, with George Barer and Vicente Hernandez;  KOPPERROTH Architektur und Stadtumbau: Marcus Kopper, Martin Roth; FORMATION A: Torsten Lockl and Lina Müller, with Benjamin Bosse,  Robert Müller, Max Mütsch, Matthias Prüger, Teresa Riethmüller, Ana Roman; SADAR+VUGA: Jurij Sadar und Boštjan Vuga; chezweitz: Detlev Weitz, Sonja Beeck; mata: Matthias Peppler, Markus Tauber; Kai Nikolaus Grüne; Sören Hanft; Geo Reisinger; bbz landschaftsarchitekten: Timo Herrmann, Ellen Kallert; HHVH Landschaftsarchitekten: Inga Hahn; HMGB Heike Matcha, Günter Barzcik; StudioC: Nicole Zahner; Sven Pfeiffer; 3Design Architecture: Anthony Leon, John Wyatt; Realarchitektur: Petra Petersson, Andrew Strickland;  ifau, Institut für angewandte Urbanistik: Christoph Heinemann, Christoph Schmidt, Susanne Heiss, Barbara Horst; Dominik Uhrmeister, Leonie Heilmann, Jens Bethke. Very special thanks to Mathis Burandt, Frank Skupin: neue tische.

team since 2003: Wolfgang List, Bernadette Krejs, Karin Maria Derix, Dorina Siewert, Ditte Waag, Polynikis Krimitsas, Stefan Saß, Rocco Zuehlke, Felix Zaiss, Stefan Kluth, Silvia Huth, Andreas Gülzow, Konstanze Schick, Elisabeth Eberenz, Matthias Grabe; Marian Manten, Max Dzembrizki, Nina Langner, Anja Retzlaff, Tobie Verleye, João Oliveira, and many many others involved within the different set-ups.

awards (selection)

White Cube Bermondsey
Architizer A+ Awards, Art Galleries category Special Mention 2014;
Civic Trust Award 2013 Commendation for the positive cultural contribution to the local community;
The Architects′ Journal Retrofit Award 2012 - Cultural Buildings Category;
RIBA National Architecture Award 2012;
American Institute of Architects UK Chapter Excellence in Design Awards 2012 Commendation;
The Chicago Atheneum Award 2012;

Radialsystem III
Architekturpreis Berlin Auszeichnung 2013;

Weser-Ems-Preis für Architektur und Ingenieurbau der OLB-Stiftung 2010;
BDA Preis des BDA Niedersachsen 2009;

Boros Collection / Residence
BDA Große Nike 2010 Nomination;
BDA Nike für die beste atmosphärische Wirkung 2010 Shortlist;
Architekturpreis Berlin Auszeichnung 2009;
The Chicago Atheneum Award 2009; 
BDA Preis des BDA Berlin 2009;
Deutsche Messe contract.world award 2009 3. Prize Conversion Category;
European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture Mies van der Rohe Award Nomination 2009;
Deutsches Architekturmuseum DAM Preis für Architektur in Deutschland 2008 Shortlist;
Forum Aid Award 2008 Nomination;
Deutscher Architekturpreis Beton 2008;
Architekturpreis der Reiners Stiftung 2007 Auszeichnung;